Institut für Systembiotechnologie

Judith Becker receives the research price of the Hans-and-Ruth Giessen Foundation

July 8, 2019

Judith Becker from the Institute of System Biotechnology of Saarland University was awarded the price and 20.000 € for her excellent research on tailor-made cell factories.

The patronage of the award ceremony on June 13, 2019 in St. Ingbert had taken over Prime Minister Tobias Hans. In her interdisciplinary research project, she wants to use the prize money to develop bacteria into synthetic mini-factories for the production of rare drugs, which can be used to combat infections or tumors, for example. In addition, she will use the support for a research stay in the US to strengthen contacts for further cooperation. In addition to Judith Becker, Ina Meiser (life sciences) and Lisa Saterdag (classical music) also received the price. From us to all winners the biggest congratulations for this award!

Article in "Saarbrücker Zeitung"

Press release IBMT

Hans-und Ruth-Giessen foundation

Photos: left: Award winner Judith Becker, right: with Prof. Christoph Wittmann, below: Wilhelm Burgemeister, Lisa Saterdag, Prof. Thomas Duis, Dr. Ina Meiser, Jürgen Lennartz, Dr. Judith Becker, Prof. Dr. Volker Linneweber (June 13, 2019)

Hans-and-Ruth-Giessen Foundation

The non-profit Hans and Ruth Giessen Foundation was founded on the occasion of the 90th birthday of Hans Giessen († May 3, 2017), in order to promote particularly talented young people in the fields of natural sciences, medicine and classical music. The focus of activities is in the Saarland, with which Hans Giessen felt very connected: »Here I founded my professional success and therefore young people from this region should benefit from it. The funding decisions of the Foundation are made by the Board of Trustees (Prof. Thomas Duis, Former Rector of the University of Music Saar | Dr. Hanspeter Georgi, Minister of Economics and Labor (ret.)) | Prof. Dr. Volker Linneweber, President of Saarland University D. D.) and met by the board of the foundation's sponsor (Franz J. Abel, Mathias Beers, Wilhelm Burgemeister). The board of trustees and board of directors use the expertise of experts from the above fields and institutions.